Press Releases.


The new Legislative Assembly of the Falkland Islands has been announced, following the General Election which concluded on Thursday 7th November.

Six members of the former assembly were returned and have been joined by two new members.  Jan Cheek, Barry Elsby, Michael Poole, Gavin Short and Mike Summers were elected by the Stanley constituency and the Camp constituency will be represented by Phyl Rendell, Roger Edwards and Ian Hansen

First-time Assembly member Michael Poole commented that he was “very surprised and very pleased to have been elected” and is “looking forward to working with his seven new colleagues” whilst returning Member of Legislative Assembly Barry Elsby said, “I am very honoured to have been re-elected and to have come second.  [This election] shows that the electorate are much more politically-minded than in previous elections, and MLAs must respond to that.”

Work begins today, when the Members of Legislative Assembly will swear their Executive Council oaths, before embarking on their four-year term as elected representatives.

This General Election is an important moment in the Falkland Islands’ history, as, following a report on roles and remunerations of MLAs prepared earlier this year, it is the first time elected members will be appointed into full-time, paid positions. This change reflects the way in which the role of an MLA has developed in recent years, and is indicative of the democratic and political growth of the Falkland Islands.

For further information regarding the new Assembly, please contact the Office of the Legislative Assembly on +500 27455.


Public Relations & Media Office

Gilbert House

+500 27400